To work out development strategy, long- and mid-term plans of forestry and its ecological construction, and monitor their implementations; To organize and direct the establishment and practice of a mechanism of ecological compensation in forestry and ecological construction; To prepare and implement sectoral budget, make budget proposals on transfer payments of earmarked funds for forestry allocated from the central government finance; To manage and supervise central government funds earmarked for forestry; To examine and approve major forestry development projects, and make proposals on scales of investment in forestry fixed assets; To prepare annual plans for forestry and its ecological construction; To be responsible for statistics.


To undertake quality control of seeds and seedlings, afforestation, management of national seeds, forestations and operation of forestry; To guide prevention of water loss and soil erosion by biological measures such as planting trees and grasses; To guide the cultivation of various types of public welfare forests and commercial forests; To organize and direct forestry pest control, quarantine and forecast; To direct and supervise nationwide voluntary tree-planting, urban and rural greening and sectoral greening; To stipulate policies and measures in forestry sector for tackling climate change and supervise their enforcement; To perform specific tasks assigned by the National Afforestation Committee.

Main responsibilities:

Read more ...


The State Forestry Administration has 11 departments, namely, the General Office, the Department of Law and Policy, Department of Afforestation and Greening (Office of the National Afforestation and Greening Committee), Department of Forest Resources Management (Office of Timber Industry Management), Department of Wildlife Conservation and Nature Reserve Management, Department of Rural Forestry Reform and Development, Forest Public Security Bureau (Office of National Forest Fire Prevention Headquarters), Department of Planning and Asset Management, Department of Science and Technology, Department of International Cooperation (Office of Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan Affairs), and Department of Human Resources.

Read more ...
Scroll to top